Another Relationship. . . Tonya

Excerpt from Another Relationship avaliable now on Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Another-Relationship-Kristin-Hurd-ebook/dp/B00UNHHU0S/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1426694441&sr=1-1&keywords=another+relationship

Tonya Lewis

“I can’t believe he had the nerve to show up here after shutting me out for two damn months.” I said plopping myself down on the sofa.

“He thinks he’s got it like that. Can be absent for so long and then just swoop in and expect you to just fall all over him… although that’s what you usually do.” Max giggled.

“Shut up! It’s different this time.” I swatted at her.

“How so sister friend? Please tell me?” She said scooting closer to me on the sofa.

“Because I’m happy now.” And I was. Michael had made me happier in just a few short weeks than Ben had in the past three years. Things were happening so quickly, Michael and I hadn’t discussed what our future might look like, or if we even had one to speak of. What I knew for sure was that my feelings for him hadn’t faded as much as I had myself believe, especially since it was so easy for us to pick up right where he left off.

“You truly are, and you need to remind yourself of that.” my mom said as she walked into the room. “You know how your father and I feel about marriage. We’ve been together since the dawn of time, but sometimes relationships run their course.”

“Listen to Momma. She knows what she’s talking about. We all just want your happiness and if Ben doesn’t do that for you, then you should move on.” Max said.

I listened as they spoke. I loved them for caring about me so much. All I wanted was happiness too, not only for me, but for Junior as well. He was happy here. He was making new friends in the neighborhood. He got to spend time with his grandparents and overall, he was just thriving here. Did I really want to take him away from all of that?

I walked over to the door and watched as Ben played with Junior. It was a sight I hadn’t seen in a long time and Junior was enjoying himself. I smiled at the two of them. If things had only been like this before, I thought.

My cell phone rang and I pulled it out of my pocket to see Michael’s smiling face. I had been home a few hours and hadn’t called him yet.

“Hey.” I said.

“Hey beautiful. Everything okay?” He asked.

“Yea. I want to apologize for Ben’s behavior. I didn’t know he was coming. He kind of just showed up.”

“Don’t apologize for him. I don’t know what you ever saw in the guy. When is he leaving?”

“He said he’s not leaving until I decide if I’m going back for California with him.”

“And?”

“I don’t know Michael. You know it’s more complicated than that. Before I ran back in to you, the only man on my radar was him.”

“And now?”

“Now I’m confused. I know how I feel about you, how I’ve always felt about you. But I married him and I don’t take that lightly.” I told him. There was silence on the line for a moment before either of us spoke again.

“Can you come see me later? Please?” he asked, urgency in his tone.

“I’ll do my best. You gonna be home?”

“Yea, I’ll be there. You don’t even have to call first. Just come, okay Beautiful?”

“Okay.” I said before hanging up. I slid my phone back into my pocket sighing heavily before turning to see Mom and Max staring at me from the sofa.

“Why me?” I said aloud. I wished someone had the answer.

2 thoughts on “Another Relationship. . . Tonya

Leave a Reply

