Another Relationship Snippet

Here’s a scene from the new book I’m working on. I’ve finally hit my groove with it and I’m excited to see how it all comes together. This book is about a woman named Tonya who is married to Benjamin. They’ve been together since the final semester of her senior year in college. He’s a bit older than her and much more worldly. She grew up in a small town in Ga and college was her first time leaving home. Years have past, a child has been born and things aren’t exactly how either of them expected. I don’t want to give too much away so I’m leaving you with a short snippet from a scene in part 2 of my book.

Hope you enjoy!

image

Part 2:You can go home again
Atlanta Hartsfield Airport

Junior ran slightly ahead of me making airplane noises as he flew the toy plane the flight attendant gave him for being such a good boy during his first flight.I stared out of the window thinking about Ben the entire flight. Thoughts only interrupted by Junior asking questions or becoming restless. By the time we were in the air an hour Junior dozed off and was asleep in my lap the rest of the flight.
Tears welled up in my eyes as thought back to the evening before. Ben seemed so cold and distant when I told him I’d be going home and wasn’t sure how long I’d be gone.
“You want to come with us Ben?”
“You two can go. I’ll be sure to check up on you every now and again.” he said, washing his face over the bathroom sink as I stood next to him.
“You sure? You just got home and we’re leaving. We’ve never spent this much time apart.”
“You need to check on your dad and I have to get back to work anyway. Neither of us need the distraction.”
“Distraction Ben? Wow, really? Is that what we are to you?” I asked, tears filling my eyes.
“You know I didn’t mean it that way. You’re so got damn sensitive Tonya geez.” he pushed past me to get to his dresser.
“Is it a crime to miss my husband? You didn’t even want to make love to me last night. How am I supposed to feel?” I walked over to my side of the bed taking a seat with my back to him. I didn’t want him to see me crying. . . again.
“Look,” He said, changing his shirt, “Sometimes I’m not in the mood okay? I’m not always in the mood to make love to my wife. Is that a crime? Does that make me a bad guy? I’m really getting tired of this shit Tonya. I have to come home from being on the road and deal with your whining bullshit. I’m sorry I wasn’t in the mood last night and this argument isn’t  making tonight look too promising either.”
I watched him walk out of the room not even bothering to glance in my direction. The next thing I heard was jingling keys and the front door closing. I knew our bed would be cold and lonely once again.

2 thoughts on “Another Relationship Snippet

  1. Hmm. Benjamin might be on his way out if he keeps avoiding lovemaking with his wife.

    I like how you told your story of lovers past thru the characters of Tonya and Benjamin. Talking about she grew up in a small town in Georgia. Lol. You were born and raised in California!

    Just kidding. Good stuff Krissy. You’re a good and passionate writer and it’s always a pleasure to read as much.

Leave a Reply

