Lend a helping hand

I just received an email from one of my oldest friends. My OG BFF as we refer to each other. She is working on a project and I thought I would share it with you guys. If you’re interested her email is included at the end.

As many of you know last week my ex boyfriend killed himself–ending his long battle with depression and bi-polar disorder. As I’ve just begun to navigate the roller coaster of emotions that come with a loss of this type I find myself often saying, “they don’t have a book for this…” I remember feeling like I had to keep my ex’s illness a secret from my friends and like I was the only woman in this type of relationship, yet since he passed away quite a few women I know have shared stories about their current or former partner who is battling mental illness and depression. I would like to put together a series of stories and essays from women who have been or are currently in relationships with men who suffer from mental illness. Black men in particular. As the suicide rate among black men continues to grow, they are the least likely to seek help for mental illness and there are plenty of women who are in relationships with them. We often watch them suffer and while we offer to help them seek support–we don’t seek any for ourselves because we’re raised not to “put our business in the streets..” I promise to keep all identifying information private if you wish (I do understand it’s a touchy topic). The stories don’t have to all be tragic–in fact if you or someone you know is currently in a relationship with a man taking the steps to live a healthy life–I would love to share those too. Stories can be shared via email at: reachalicia1@gmail.com.

If you know someone who you think would be willing to share please share this email with them. The stories don’t have to be written–videos are welcome, I’ll transcribe.

Be Well,

Alicia

 

Again if you”re interested in helping with this project or know someone who would like to help, please lend a helping hand and pass the information along.

 

Thanks guys!

8 thoughts on “Lend a helping hand

Leave a Reply

