Music: A review

Over the past few months I have listened to quite a few new albums and singles by artist I really enjoy. Some of their albums were a hit with me and some completely a miss! What I do when I get an album to listen to is I play the entire album. I don’t skip any songs. Once I play the entire album I do back and listen to the ones I really liked a second time. After that, I decide whether the entire album was a hit or miss for me. Something you guys should know is, I’m all about my music. I’m not just listening for a hot track. I listen for lyrical content as well. Sometimes the beat is so fresh that what’s being said doesn’t matter at all but for me that’s pretty rare. If you’re into music like me,  Here are a few reviews of things I’ve been listening to…

Miguel – Kaleidoscope Dream

I LOVE this album. Its one that I can listen to from start to finish. For me that’s a sign of a great album. Miguel has a bit of a Prince vibe going on but its not imitation, which is something I appreciate. This one is highly recommended if you don’t already have it.

Standout Track: Candles in the sun

Justin Timberlake – 20/20 experience

This is another start to finish classic. I was really glad Justin took time off and didn’t come back with a album full of craptastic music. He is and always has been very soulful. I recommend this album if you don’t already have it.

Stand out track: Strawberry bubble gum

Tyrese- Open Invitation

Okay, so I love Tyrese! His album is great. His voice hasn’t changed and he reminds me of how great R&B once was. I can however do without all of his interludes. He’s speaking in what I’m sure he thinks is a sexy voice but it just comes off like he’s really tried and its kinda creepy. I say just sing your songs and don’t try and entice us with the interludes because they almost made me want to turn it off. I recommend this album if you don’t already have it but you have been warned about the interludes lol

Stand out Track: What took you so long

Fantasia- Side Effects of you

I LOVE LOVE LOVE Fantasia! I always have. I don’t care what she’s been through her voice is something that can’t be deny and that’s really what she needs to be judged on. This album is real and its honest. It’s another album that you can play from start to finish and enjoy. I recommend this album if you don’t already have it.

Stand out Track: If I was a bird

Kelly Rowland- Talk a good game

Okay, I’m gonna be honest here. I don’t like this album. It seems rushed and not very well put together. The songs didn’t catch me and I really forced myself to listen to the entire album. I wouldn’t recommend this album to anyone. I really like Kelly and think she has a beautiful voice but maybe she should just make singles because this whole album business is not for her. At least THIS album wasn’t

Stand out Track: You Changed ( and this says a lot because its the one song on the album featuring Beyonce and Michelle)

Ciara- Ciara

This album. . .What can I say about it. . . It’s okay.  Its not a great album by any means but it’s alright. Ciara does what she does best and makes you dance. She’s not the best singer but she’s not horrible either. I would only recommend this album if you didn’t have to pay for it. It you got it for free then bump it all day long. #NoShade

Stand out track: Body Party

Kanye West- Yeezus

Hated it! Next. . .

No really I didn’t like it at all. I know people grow and change as artist but this is too much change for me. He is not the same artist he once was when I used to like him. Now he’s on some other ish and it’s just not my cup of tea. I’m not into all this Demi God stuff. It’s for the birds. I wouldn’t recommend this album period.

Stand out track: Bound 2 ( yep, the only track I liked)

Chrisette Michelle- Better

Yea, She’s had BETTER albums. This one was pretty lack luster for me as a whole. It’s mellow and very chill but It didn’t make me want to play it on repeat which is what I do with albums I REALLY like. She has a few songs that I really enjoy and I downloaded them as singles on my ipod. It’s not an album that I’d recommend you buy. It’s another that if you got it for free, then bump it all day!

Stand out Track: A couple of forevers

Wale- The Gifted

Let me start off by saying I have never heard any of his other albums. . . Does he have other albums? Hell I don’t know! This album for me was pretty good. I know Drake gets talked about for being Emo but low key, Wale is just as emo! lol He raps about relationships just as much as drake. I actually really like this album. It got 2 complete run throughs from me. The way he raps isn’t my favorite. It’s a little A-B-C basic but his content is really good so I can overlook the style because of that.

Stand out Track- Sunshine

JayZ- Magna Carta Holy Grail

Anyone who knows me knows I am and have always been a JayZ Fan! I love the way his flows. It’s one of the smoothes things out there as far as rappers go. This album is one I play from start to finish except for Holy Grail with Justin Timberlake. I don’t like that song at all. It annoys me for some reason and I just have to skip it. Aside from that, the album is great. He talks about all sorts of things from Media to being a father to Race Relations. The best thing Jay does is tell a story and if you really listen you get taken on the ride with him. I recommend this album if you don’t already have it.

Stand out Track: F*ckwithmeyouknowigotit

Robin Thicke- Blurred Lines

As fun as the 1st single was I had very high hopes for this album. I was pretty let down to say the least. This album has 10 tracks and I only liked 3 of them. That a fail in my book. I wouldn’t recommend this album. I say listen through it and download some singles.

Stand out track: 4 The rest of my life

 

Lastly Here’s a single I really really like!

It’s called Sensational by Trey Songz. I LOVEEEE it! I’ve played it a good 10 times since I first heard it a few days ago. I’m actually playing it as I write this. I highly recommend this single. It’s smooth and sexy and get you to swaying.

5 thoughts on “Music: A review

Leave a Reply

