Review: Miss Jessie’s Curly Pudding

My sister received a jar of  Miss Jessie’s Curly Pudding at a function last week. She brought it home for me to try out. I always see it in target but can’t justify spending $38 bucks on any jar of product unless its magic and we all know its not.

1st I tried it on my hair. I opened the jar and I LOVED the way it smelled. I scooped a little out and rubbed it in my hands. I consistency was really creamy and i liked that a lot. My hair was dry from a week of dry bantu knot outs. I ran the pudding through my hair and was nice and soft. I liked the way my curls looked but it was night time and I twist my hair every night in bantu knots. I was curious to see how my curls were going to turn out in the morning.

The next morning I took my knots out and my hair felt dry. Not silky how it felt the night before. My curls were also tangled and kind of crunchy. I didn’t like that at all. Needless to say the bantu knot out with Curly Pudding over night was a FAIL in my hair.

Last Thursday I needed to detangle Jasmine’s hair so I decided I would try the Miss Jessie’s Curly pudding on her hair. It helped detangle just fine. I twisted her hair after i was done and put her silk sleep cap on. When she got up friday morning I took the twists down. I found the same results on her hair as I did on mine. Crunchy tangled curls and dry feeling hair. She asked to wear her hair down and i let her but I HATED the way it looked. Her curls are much more shinny and defined when I use the Shea Moisture and its wayyy cheaper ( 10 bucks)

After trying it out I say well use it on our curls occasionally but we’ll stick to the more inexpensive Shea Moisture which works much better.

Miss Jesse’s is too over priced not to have magic in it!

 

Disclaimer: all opinions are my own. I was not compensated to review this product

18 thoughts on “Review: Miss Jessie’s Curly Pudding

  1. I think you’re getting that crunch because you’re supposed to use curly pudding on wet hair, and then air dry. Curly or baby buttercreme is for dry styling.

    • I actually tried it on dry and wet hair and got the same results. I still feel like its a waste of money. I’ll only ever try it again if I get it for free.

  2. Did the same thing to Addison’s hair. I got some full sized products in a swag bag not too long ago and was anxious. I tried on my hair made it very heavy. My hair is already oily so it just made it more greasy. I’m with you. I’m a Shea Moisture fan and will spend my $10 over $38 anyday.

  3. Good to know! My little sister’s hair is natural, and she was considering using this. She was turned away by the price. It’s good to know she didn’t waste her money, because I know she hates dry, crunchy hair. Thanks for the info Sister!

  4. I have never used them because I was taken aback by the price. There is always something cheaper to do the same thing. But with all of you saying you get crunchy hair you pretty much put the nail in the Miss Jessie’s coffin.

  5. Wow – that’s crazy that it costs so much! I agree on the pink oil – I was against it for a long time but my mom swears by it after 3 girls and when I use it on Nia’s hair it really does turn out nicely. The Shea Moisture souffle is a bit too tacky but I like how it defines Nia’s curls. Thanks for sharing your review!

    • we use pink oil too( the just for me brand because its cheaper) and have had no issues with it. I’ve been using that since Jas was a few months old.

Leave a Reply

