The Happs

I’ve been absent in my blog all week. Jasmine has been sick so I’ve had to tend to her. She came home from church with my sister on Sunday evening and was very warm but still playing and being herself. I didn’t even leave the house Sunday because I was up early making my side dough doing a head of individuals. I’m not as into doing other folks hair as I use to be HOWEVER I rarely turn down side cash by doing something I’m awesome at and that’s hair! So I gave Jas Tylenol and sent her to bed and she woke up with a normal temp and chatty. I took her to daycare and I went to work.

When I came and picked my girl up she was nekkid( just a diaper) and whiny. They told me she was running a fever and it was 102. I picked her up and she felt like a heating pad! They got her dressed and we headed over to my moms because I still needed to grocery shop and didn’t want to lug my sick child around. Jas curled up in my moms lap and she dozed on and off until i returned.

When we got home I gave her a cool bath and put her in the bed with me. See Jas has a history of Febrile Seizures and they scare us both pretty good. So I let her sleep in my bed. She tossed and turned and slept right up on me. I had to keep the fan on because she had ME sweating. The next morning was supposed to be her 18 month check up so I was thankful for that.

I got Jas dressed and ready and loaded her up in the car. The plan was for us to make her appointment and then for me to drop her off with my sister so that I could go to work and get some things done. That plan flew out the window because. . . I LOCKED MY BABY IN THE CAR! Yes y’all I did. I was trying to rush and gather everything from the car. I put my keys and cell in her diaper bag like I usually do when we go to the doc and sat it in the back seat next to Jasmine. I remembered her medical records card was in the front seat so I close the back door and go back into the front of the car. After I grab her card and my wallet I close that door too. . . LOCKED! all the doors are locked and I start to freak out. I pulling at the handles like a crazy person and of course nothing is happening. I look in at Jas and she’s just chillin so I calm myself down and think. A man  with his kids pull up behind us and he asks if i need him. I explain to him what happened and he pulls out his cell phone and lets me use it. I 1st call my parents who live around the corner and sometimes work from home but no one answered. So then i call my best friend, she answers and i explain what happened. She tells me she’s on her way( from work, i love her!) and that she’s calling AAA. Needless to say we got Jas out. Took about 30 mins from me making the call to the AAA people getting there. They also told me that I don’t need an AAA membership to call them if someone is locked in the car. Good to know but this will NEVER happen again.

I thank God for Lupe and his cell phone because I didn’t want to walk away from the car and freak jas out. He also stayed outside with us while we waited for AAA to arrive and he didn’t have to do any of that. Jasmine was cool for a good 20 mins of this ordeal then she tried unstrapping herself and had no luck.  She then started to get upset and started to cry these huge tears! Hurt my soul y’all. And I could see her calling “mommy, mommaaaa” and I couldn’t recuse her. Seriously the worst feeling in the world! But she was recused and safe and we still went on with out appointment. Now we were accompanied by my best friend and her brother who was closer than she was to me so she called him to come be with us. He cuddled jas a few mins then he left because I told him she might be getting shots! lol But bestie stayed with us.

They call her name and we go back to get her stats. My girl gained a pound! lol She’s now 23lbs and 32inches. I knew she was taller. She seems like she’s getting long. Her fever was still 102 so they gave me meds to give her. Now when I tell y’all she didn’t want anything to do with those meds! She fought and fought and what I did get her to swallow she soon threw up all over bestie who had to go back to work. luckily she lives close and was able to go home and change. The doc checked Jas out and said she had the beginnings of an ear infection but she also had a very inflamed throat and it was infected. He prescribed her antibiotics and we were on our way.

She wasn’t much herself all day Tuesday and barely ate a thing. I got her to drink a little bit but that was about it. She slept in the bed again with me that night. Yesterday morning she came to work with me so I could get a few things done and we could head back home. She was more like herself yesterday. Very chatty and she drank a little but she still barely ate. My coworkers haven’t seen her in months so they were all over her ( in a good way) she was entertained and so were they and I was able to finish what i needed to do quickly.

We went home and took long naps. She slept for 3 hrs and woke up even more like herself. She took a bath and got her hair washed, ate a little bit and was back to sleep by 830. Today she’s at home with my sister. I didn’t think she needed to be at daycare the rest of the week. Tomorrow either she’ll be home or she’ll be with another Auntie. I’m blessed to have people who are ready and willing to help out with Jasmine when I need them. She’s better to today. She woke up and said, “Hi mom” and waved at me so that’s a good sign lol.

I’ll leave y’all with the picture I would have posted yesterday for Wordless Wednesday had I remembered it was Wednesday lol

Mother's Day

16 thoughts on “The Happs

  1. Glad that she wasn’t locked in for too long. I know so many moms and dads who’ve done it. It happens. Try not to feel bad about it. She’s safe and happy now!

  2. Aww! Poor thing! I’m glad she’s feeling much better. And you’re right, its good to have people in your life who can help you out when you need them. It is also good that there are still nice strangers out there who are willing to help out. Have a great Memorial Day!

    • 🙂 yea my family and friends are awesome. They’ve been there from the beginning. And Lupe was so nice. Other people were just watching and that was very annoying! Nothing but good things are gonna come to people like him

  3. Glad Jasmine is feeling better!

    What an experience with the car. You are a good one for keeping it together because I would have lost it once I saw her start crying. This makes me glad that my car has a funny sensor key that will beep very loudly if I try to lock the car with the key inside. I just *know* I would do something like this because I can be really scatterbrained sometimes. I used to lock my keys in the car every week!

    • I had to make sure I stayed calm although I was freaking out inside. I made sure I spoke nice and soft to her while I told her to calm down. It work for the 1st 5 mins of her freaking out. Then she lost it. I don’t think she was scared, I think she was wondering why she was still inside.

    • Yea I couldn’t lose it because she was watching me. My pacing was more than enough I’m sure lol.

      I know right! I’d so wear that dress. She actually picked that one out on her own

  4. you are lucky to have all that help. I know I thank GOD for my son’s aunt (his mom’s sister). She comes threw for me like she was my sister when it comes to him. Glad the lil bully is doing/feeling better. You still got 3 lashings coming to you for locking her in the car, but..you’re allowed a mistake here & there.

  5. I have come close to locking M in the car several times. I imagine her locked in my car in 100+ degree TX heat. I just know I’d break a window. I’m thinking of hiding a spare key under the car. I know people say your car will get stolen, but whatever that’s my baby, ya know!

    Love the pic of you two lovelies!

    • Its a very scary thing to have your child locked in the car. Now I make sure the keys are in my hand or pocket. I can’t ever have that happen again.

      I love that pic. She actually looked and smiled lol

Leave a Reply

