Where did the last 8 months go?

This year is just blowing by. I can’t believe I’ve been a mother for an entire 8 months now! I won’t lie to you guys and say it hasn’t been frustrating at times but overall it’s been a wonderful experience.

I don’t think I can even express how hard being a single parent is. It’s something I never wanted for my child. I always wanted any children I had to grow up with both of their parents in the house. We all know that it doesn’t always work out the way we plan. So here I am, 8 months into it and it’s mostly just me. Her sperm donor is not in her life and that is his choice, not mine.  She does however have the love and support of many male role models, one who she even calls “dada”. This wonderful man will be the one she will grow up knowing as her dad. I get misty eye’d just thinking about it. Thinking about how much she loves him and lights up whenever she sees him. And how much he lights up when he’s around her. It’s awesome and it also reminds me how much Sperm Donor is missing out on.

Again, his choice, not mine. Although I think her “Dada” is a much better person for the job. I love him with my whole heart and I can tell Princess J does too.

In the past few weeks Princess J has really hit developmental milestones.

She talks ( see gibberish for the most part lol). She says Bye-Bye and Hi and Dada and Papa. And whenever I try to get her to say “Mama” she just smiles at me really hard. SMH!

She mocks sounds and movements. If you slap your thigh, she’ll slap hers.

She tries to clap

She LOVES her feet

She spits ( ugh! I so wish she would stop)

She crawls

She’s trying to pull up on things

She’s a professional bottle holder. The one handed switch thing she does cracks me up!

She gives mama kisses

Oh, and she’s SASSY! This is something that I can’t stand about my child lol. She’s around bigger kids in daycare and she mocks their tantrums. I wish she wasn’t so perceptive sometimes SMH! This will be cause for many spankings in her older years if I don’t nip it into the bud like NOW! Lol I refuse to be the mother in the store with the child throwing tantrums! I so refuse!

I’m loving watching her grow up but I kinda wish she’d slow down just a little bit for me.

( I also wish she’s start sleeping through the night. * looks at bags and darks circles in the mirror*)

So yea, overall 8 months has had it’s ups and downs but mostly ups. I love my baby girl and can’t imagine life without her. It’s like she’s always been a part of my life.

13 thoughts on “Where did the last 8 months go?

  1. Sleeping through then night never happened in my home until he was about three.(All thanks to him having RSV at 6 months, being on breathing treatments off and on) His little body never could get on schedule to stay sleep. But now trying to wake him up, is like talking to a wall made up of ten inch thick cinder blocks.
    From the pictures looks like she loves the camera, my kid does too and even knows how to work it better than his grandma.

    • Yea I just figure sleeping through the night will happen when shes ready. She talks in her sleep and whimpers and all of that wakes me up because I can’t tell if she’s awake or not. It really sucks!

      And yes Sheena she definitely IS a ham. I love it tho because I can’t get a bad picture because she poses lol.

  2. She is such a cutie!

    Lewis does the bottle switching thing too and I think it is hilarious. It is even funnier when he throws the bottle across the room when he’s done LOL.

    We are going on 10 months soon and I’m *still* waiting for sleeping through the night. I don’t consider it sleeping through the night until he goes down for bed and doesn’t require any intervention (not 5AM bottles, no pacifier retrieval missons) until 8AM or so. Yeah – still waiting with dark circles under my eyes from pacifier missions nearly every hour last night. Sigh.

    • aww thanks Keyalus!

      I so wanna squeal with delight that you actually know my sleeping through the night pain! Other people keep telling me , “my baby was sleeping through the night at 3 months. . . 6 months. . ” but that’s not how my princess J rolls! She sleeps a good 4 hours at a time and I do have to jump up and get her binky and I also have to feed her at 3am. I agree, it’s not sleeping through the night until she’s down for at least a full 8 hours!

      also, her doc told me that most babies sleep through the night around 9 or 10 months so I guess our time is coming girly lol

    • The time goes by wayyy too quickly. I want her to grow up but I also want her to stay my baby and I know I can’t have it both ways. She is my heart tho. Very much so. And YESSS she is such a darn ham! She loves taking pictures. She even waits for the flash. But she was born to a mother who is also a ham so u can say she gets it honestly.

Leave a Reply

