My baby story. . .

I said I’d come back and add the details of Jasmine’s coming out party, so here it goes.

Jasmine was due to be born on the 23rd of November. My girl shows up almost a month early.

I go to the doctor every week for fetal non- stress test 2 times a week. It was routine for me.  So I’m there for my test on Oct 20th and the hook me up to the machines and put the BP cuff on my arm like they always do. Jasmine sounds great and is active as usual. My pressure on the other hand, isn’t so great. It’s high, 175/95. I drink some water. Try laying on a different side. nothing is helping my pressure come back down. So my nurse comes in. She tells me she called my doctor and told her my pressure was high and that they needed to monitor me longer. At this point I’m upset because I had things to do. . .

That morning my fridge and freezer decided they wanted to warm and defrost everything I had. So I ended up calling the place where I got the fridge from to come check it out. That was supposed to be around 4. It was already 3:45pm. So yea, I was going to miss them. And I was gonna have to throw all of my food out!. . . back to the story

So I’m laying there all hooked up and I’m upset. My doctor comes over and she tells me my pressure is high and they’d like to keep me there over night. I’m scared because I’ve never spent the night in the hospital before and if they needed me to stay it must have been much more serious than I thought. So I put on a gown, climb in the bed and they hook me back up. I’m also ordered to do a 24 hr urine test ( I had to pee in a “hat” and they measure how much protein is in my urine). The 1st batch of urine they tested came out high.  So I was there, just waiting. I didn’t sleep well and the next morning I was just waiting for whatever news they gave me. The news was I needed to stay another night for more test * tear* I was so sad and ready to come home. So I stay another night and the next day the test were better. My doc comes and tells me I can go home but no more work and bed rest only for me. They said I had what looked like the beginning of Pre-eclampsia and I needed to take it easy.

Bed rest sucked! I got released from the hospital on the 22nd of October and my baby shower was set for Oct 24th. I was swollen like crazy and could hardly walk because my feet looked like balloons

my swollen feets

but I had my shower and it was a good time.

Thursday the 29th was the baby shower they were throwing me at work. They had put it off twice before and I wanted them to have it because they were all so excited. The morning of that shower I woke up from a horrible night of sleep. I felt like I had to poop all morning with no success and my stomach was killing me.  I got in the tub for a soak thinking that would make me feel better, and it did while I was in the tub but then I had trouble getting out( lmao). IT look me literally 5 mins to get out of the tub. Once I did my sister called to check on me. I told her I was okay but my stomach was hurting. She was already on her way to come take me to my shower at work. So I start to get dressed. When she gets there she helps me finish dressing and we leave. My stomach is still bothering me. I get to work and the co-workers are all like, ” are you okay?” ” you don’t look so good.” I tell them about my stomach pain and they all insist I’m in labor. We eat food and open gifts and my sister drives me over to the hospital  for my fetal monitoring which was scheduled for that day already. I tell the nurse I think I may be in labor. she takes me to a room and hook me up to the machine to check the baby. They also put me on the BP machine. My pressure is really high and I am having consistent contractions. The nurse checks my cervix which is already 3cenimeters.  They admit me to a room and I ask for my epidural which I didn’t want at 1st but the pain was too much and too frequent coming every minute with no relief in between ( and my nurse told me not to try and be a hero lol!). They give it to me and that drug right there becomes my best friend for the next few hours. They also give me and IV of magnesium to bring my pressure down and and IV of Pitocin.  3 of my sisters are there with me and we’re just kinda hanging out waiting for jasmine.

11 hours after it 1st began now it’s time for me to start pushing. I push and push and push and I’m tired as hell. I don’t wanna push anymore. I offer my belly up for c-section. The nurses keep assuring me jasmine is close and to not give up. My doctor comes in and we continue pushing.

In the mist of the pushing my pressure drops really low. It was in the 50’s. I lost conscientiousness as my baby’s head pops out. They stop all pushing to revive me. Once they get me back they continue with trying to get jasmine out but shes stuck! Her shoulder it caught in my pelvis and the only way to get her out is to do an Episiotomy. The doctor cuts me and gets Jas out. They toss her on my chest and before I know what’s going on they NICU docs whisk her away. It’s 1:08am when she makes her appearance. I’m so doped up and out of it at this point I don’t know what’s going on. All I know is my baby isn’t with me and I don’t hear her crying. They got her to cry and then they took her away.

My pressure is still no good. They have me on oxygen and I drift in and out of conscientiousness. I come back and forth with the nurse asking me every time if I remember her name. Each time I say, “Dorthy”.

3hours later they bring Jas in to meet me for the 1st time and she’s beautiful.

Beautiful newborn Jasmine

we stare at each other and I am more in love with her than I ever was before. The doc comes and tells me her left shoulder was hurt in delivery and she hasn’t moved that arms since she’s been out. So I’m sad she’s hurt but happy she’s healthy otherwise.

The rest of the weekend was spent bonding in the hospital with princess Jasmine until we’re released Sunday afternoon. They ran test on jasmine to make sure her shoulder was good and it was.

We get home to my moms Sunday evening with people coming and going to see Jasmine and myself. A few hours later it’s just us again. I put her to bed and then I tried to catch some Zzzz’s myself. I go to lay down and feel like I can’t breath. Like someone is sitting on my chest preventing my air from coming out. I don’t know what’s going on but it’s freaking me out. I can’t lay down. I thought maybe it was all in my head because of the being unconscious during and after labor. In the hospital before I blacked out both times, I felt like I couldn’t breathe either.

My mom comes in the room about midnight to check on Jas and I. She asks me what was wrong. I tell her whenever I lay down I feel like I can’t breathe. I also tell her I think it’s in my head. So she says she’ll stay in the room with me for awhile. She climbs in the bed and dozes off. When jasmine wakes up for her 1st feeding. I try breastfeed for awhile but it’s not a good look because I started to doze with her in my arms sitting up. My mom takes her and feeds her a bottle then puts her back to sleep.

I stay up all night scared to lay down. In the morning my mom tells me to get some rest and she’ll look after Jasmine. After she saw my breathing issue twice, she knew it wasn’t in my head. She called my grandmother to come watch the baby, and she took me to the ER. We get there and my pressure is 202/90 so they put me in a bed in the ER and hook me up to BP machine and give me more magnesium to bring the pressure down. Nurses come and draw blood and the doc orders and x-ray and a CT scan. The scan and X ray come back and I’m told I have fluid on my lungs from the magnesium pumped into my system during birth. The blood work comes back and says my blood count is dangerously low and I’ll need a transfusion. At that point, I broke down. I just had a baby 2 days ago, now I know they are gonna keep me in the hospital at least over night and I can’t be with her.

They send me back up to labor and delivery ( and let me tell you i love, love love all of the nurses on that floor. they took such good care of me when i had jasmine and they took good care of me when I had to come back) and got me comfortable. They were to watch me over night and see how well I did.

I fell asleep for about an hour. I was woken up by a nurse telling me I needed to be rushed down to ICU. My blood count was still dropping and I needed my transfusion. So I’m sad and upset because I really don’t wanna go to ICU because that means it’s bad.

I stay in the ICU for 3 days while I get better laid up in a bed, hooked up to machines and IV’s. Then i spend another 3 days back in labor and delivery. I spent a few days with my new baby legs, unable to walk. Once I’m able to walk again I start to feel more like myself. Mind you, everyday they are telling me I’m going home tomorrow.

On the 4th day I get to see my baby. She visits with my sisters. It’s bitter sweet because Im not leaving with her and I feel like a horrible mother. On the 5th day I have a mental break down. I don’t want any more visitors. I don’t wanna see my baby. I don’t want anything! The nurses and my family talk me down and tell me that the baby can spend the night. And that she will help bring my pressure down. High blood pressure was the main reason they weren’t letting me go home. My mom and little sister bring Jasmine back to me. I couldn’t believe how much I missed her. And how different she looked in just a few short daysThe doctors and nurses were right though. It turns out she was my medicine. With Jasmine there my pressure came down low enough for me to be discharged the next day.

I’ll be on blood pressure medicine probably the rest of my life, but I have this beautiful little girl to wake up to everyday. It makes it all worth it. . .Although, I doubt i’d ever put myself through any of that ever again lol

Jas and Mommy

9 thoughts on “My baby story. . .

  1. Pingback: Randoms on a monday morning | The Musings of Me

  2. Wow, she’s absolutely beautiful! what a story!! I’m so sorry it wasn’t the most pleasant experience but it’s so beautiful to hear your baby was your medicine! Just a few more weeks and it’s my turn!! 😀

    • why thank you! She drives me crazy some days but I can still count on her smile and snuggles to also brighten them. 🙂 You’ll see what I mean soon enough lol

  3. whooooaaaa..that was hell of ride for you! I’m glad all worked out well and you could make it back to Jasmine in one peace.

    ps. She is so adorable

    • Hey sugar! Yea it was a hell of a ride and I don’t think i’ll ever have any more because of it and if I do, someone did some real sweet talkin because honestly I’m still traumatized by it all.

      and thank you, she’s a sweetie pie. She makes it all worth it for me

  4. Hey shortie partner-in-crime! Sorry it was such a struggle to get that beautiful girl here but you wear motherhood extremely well. I still plan on sticking Jas in my purse & bringing her home with me (no it’s not kidnapping, TYVM). I’ll send her back when she’s old enough to get snarky.

    • Yes shortie-doo-wop it is kidnapping lol. Ask anyone lol. U stop plottin on Jas. I’ll let u borrow her tho. Mama needs sleep sometimes damnit lol.

      And thank you, I love being HER mommy. I wouldn’t trade her for the world.

  5. Twin,

    That was quiet an adventure. I am glad that both you and Jas were both fine. As I was reading this I was thinking to myself that if Jas was at the hospital with you your pressure would drop. I am glad that it worked!! The pictures are beautiful and Im going to give you a pass on the winter meat feet, you were after all pregnant. Great post!!!

    • Like really Twinzy I shouldn’t have to tell you ihatechu so many times a day but you MAKE me do it! “Winter meat feet”? We bustin rhymes now? I see how it is lol.

Leave a Reply

