How do you maintain. . .

How does one go about maintaining a relationship with the family of an Ex? I don’t know how to do that without it being awkward. I kinda feel like I lost all privileges to the family when the relationship was over. This past relationship was the 1st time I had ever formed a relationship with anyone’s I’ve dated family. And I personally really enjoyed it. He also formed his own separate relationship with my family as well. But seeing as how he and I can’t seem to be friends, I don’t see how I can still talk to and hang out with his mother. I love her dearly and think she is awesome, but they live together, so think just how weird that would be. He texted me the other day to tell me his mom had been asking about me. And crazy enough, I had just been thinking about her maybe 10mins before he sent me that message. I asked him what she said, and him being the shithead the him that he’s been for the past couple of weeks responded with, “ call her and ask her yourself.” I really wanted to pick up the phone that second and call her, but then I started to think, “ How can I have a relationship with her, and not have one with him?” I don’t really know how to do that. This is all new to me. And I don’t have any issue with her at all. My issues were with him, which is why the relationship ended to begin with. He and I can’t fix what’s broken but I don’t want to take it out on his mom who clearly still cares for and about me. Hopefully I figure this out soon. She’s in my cell, all I have to do is click her name. . .

5 thoughts on “How do you maintain. . .

  1. Not to mention she would probably start in on him about why he let you go and he should try to get you back, blah blah blah. My aunt and grandmom did that to my cousin. He just up and married someone they didn’t approve of and of course the marriage didn’t last a hot minute.

    One day you will look back on him and laugh. Or, if you’re like me, one day you will look back and not remember his name. Yeah, I got one like that in my past. I’ve seen him and we’ve spoken. LOL And he was so hurt that I truly forgot his name. Still missing from my memory, too. Footprints on sand!

    • I don’t think I’ll laugh but I surely will forget. That’s what I do. I make them forgettable memories and I keep it pushing. I never let the last dictate my future. I do hope his mom is well tho. She was awesome.

  2. Hmm, I don’t think it’s either possible or wise to remain friends with his mom. This I get from my own experience. I was actually friends with the mom before I met her son. He also lived with his mom back then and it was worse than awkward. He was such a dyck! It didn’t matter that he had another girl there, he would be all in my face! Ugh! Good riddance to bad rubbish and remember his mom kindly and let it go. Chalk it up as one of friendships that was just for a season.

    • Yea I haven’t called his mom or anything. I’m just gonna let it die. Even the friendship with him is dead. I’d be happy if I never saw dude again. He’s so not the man I thought he was. If I see her in passing that would be awesome tho. But I can’t bring myself to call her. I think it would be too weird.

Leave a Reply

